Sleep Training Your Newborn Twins

This is what you’ve all been waiting for, right? You’ve seen my FB posts about how my 5wk old twins slept 4.5hrs, then how they worked their way up to 7hrs by 7wks. Now you want to know how we did it, right? Great, let’s get started.

**this only works if your babies are gaining weight good, don’t let them sleep this long if they need an extra feeding or two at night – check with your pediatrician first**

Remember when I prepped you in my Twins – The First Four Weeks post about putting them down DROWSY BUT AWAKE? I told you that starting this early was an investment into your future sleep. I refrain from letting them sleep in swings, or bouncy chairs too often. Or let them fall asleep there and then move them to their beds. I normally despise pacifiers. Our second day in the hospital with twins and I was begging for them. If you can avoid them, GREAT – if you can’t, don’t beat yourself up over it! My plan is to wean them off at 3mo, one month before I plan to move them into their own room.IMG_1646

Starting AFTER 4wks of age, plan to nurse (or feed) them at 6pm, and then again at 8pm. Between 8-10, keep them awake. Then nurse again at 10. Sounds easy, right? Buahahaha. It’s not. Especially if you have older kids that go down around 8 or 8:30. That means one parent is stuck attempting to keep both babies from screaming and or from falling asleep while the other parent does the nightly routine with the older child. At 10, nurse them put them to bed. We are 7wks in and last night I only reinstalled a pacifier 8 times for the whole night.

My methods are based on the The Sleep Lady’s Good Night, Sleep Tight book. I highly recommend reading this book. It breaks down the amount of sleep by age.

This doesn’t mean that you’ll sleep as much as they are. I lay awake listening to every noise and looking at the clock, it’s terrible! Oh well, at least the rest of my family is getting a good night’s sleep.

This entry was posted in Sleep Training Twins and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sleep Training Your Newborn Twins

  1. Pingback: Twins – the first four weeks | lifeplustwins

Leave a Reply

